top of page

How to Plan a Trip

I am a big dreamer, so I plan trips all the time. I have created a method that I use that works well for me; it helps me create a vision for where I want to go and what I will do or see while there. These are my tips to you on how to plan out your own trips...

1. Find a source for inspiration

Whenever I see a picture or video of a place I want to see or thing I want to do, I figure out where it is and begin to form my trip around this thing.

2. Discover other things to do in or near that area

The next step is to figure out the other things that you will see or do on your trip. I always search "things to do in (city)" and usually end up on a site like Trip Advisor. This website is really helpful because it shows you the main attractions, sites, and activities of a certain place while also providing addresses and sometimes website links. You can also see photos from other people's trips and comments they shared.

3. Look for places to eat

Food is very important; not only will it keep you alive while on your trips, but it is also a way to meet new people, learn more about a culture, and support local communities. I always find just a couple of interesting restaurants and cafes that I would like to try. Usually my choices are based on atmosphere, but other times the food just looks so good!

4. Where will you be staying?

Unless this is the whole reason I am going to a place (one of my trips was planned around a really cool hotel), I always look up where to stay last. To me the views and experiences of where I stay aren't as important as other factors, so I don't ever pick the biggest and fanciest hotels. I figure I won't be spending too much time there; I'll be out exploring.

5. Pictures!

I always like to include a couple pictures of every place and activity for each trip. They help me to better visualize my trips and remember what things are.

6. Having addresses and web links is important

Make sure that you have the address for each place and activity. For web links I will either use their original website or its page on Trip Advisor. Having all of the information for each thing in just one click will be very helpful to you in the future.

7. Where to put all of this information

To keep all of your trip information together, I recommend creating something like a Microsoft Word or Google document. I use Google Drive for all of mine. I title each document as the place I'm going and can easily copy and paste pictures or links in it; it's a great way to organize and plan all my trips.

7. Put together a more specific plan for your trip

Now that everything about your trip is all in one place, you can form a specific schedule for what and when you will do things. I go on Google Maps and search each address up, then save it (press the star button). This allows me to visualize where each thing is and if it is close to something else. Then all of the things that are in the same area can be for a specific day of your trip and you work off of that. The next step would be seeing what days and times things are open or occurring. Soon you have a full trip schedule and your planning is complete!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page